Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

Nightmare On Wolcott Street Reviews

 
« Back To Profile
  • 1058 Wolcott Street
  • Waterbury, CT
  • 203-754-5000
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Scary
Appropriate For
-
Organization Type
Commercial / For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Zombie Hunts & Shootouts, Other Events
Review This Haunt
  • Email Verified Custom, Handcrafted Haunted House Full of Movie Props

    Nightmare on Wolcott Street is a winding labyrinth of 55 rooms lined with salvaged movie props. Expect every genre of horror:Killer clowns.Vampires.A Chainsaw wielding maniac.There easily could be 1000 set pieces wired and set up to scare.Humble beginnings, this scare show was set up 5 years ago by the owner of the clrestoration shop it's connected to. There they custom fabricate parts for cars that no longer exist. As we stepped up to take a photo next to the twin 2-story Virgin Mary's, featured in Whoopie Goldverg's Sister Act, one of his mechanics was kind enough to share with us a half-million dollar, mauve restoration from France the owner had purchased and was working to restore to sell at an auction. Many of their cars serve in the scenes of Hollywood films.As you can imagine, many of these mechanics have worked on setting up the haunted house, whether installing new pieces into old mechanical animatronic Frankensteins, or welding steel and mirror to create fun house mazes. As a result the haunted house is custom, unlike any other, and an art piece in its own respect.#2 Haunted House of the year, as we seek to visit 13 haunted houses in the Northeast during this Halloween season.This one is not to be missed and will be reviewed with video and photos on our NY Nomads' blog, for those that want to learn more.www.nynomads.com

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great horror house venue. Top of the list.

    Went to a lot of horror houses, this is at the top! You won't be disappointed, but you will be scared!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Recommend to all scare seekers

    There were lots of twists and turns.. scares kept coming from all sides.. often they would jump out from hidden spots totally catching you off-guard. My husband does not scared easily.. but even he was jumped at least thrice.. the rates were reasonable and the whole thing was lots of fun. I would recommend this place to scare seekers in the state.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Scary...multiple thematic rooms

    Amazing haunt house. Very short wait time in the queue and scary ambience inside the house. Multiple thematic rooms accompanied by phenomenal special effects. Impressed by actor’s skills and costume. Friendly staff. Not for one who gets panic easily

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Actors were fantastic

    Went last night with a small group of 4 friends. Didn’t get too scared but actors were fantastic especially the chainsaw. The creepy sounds were most enduring. Overall, we left terrified and planning to come again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Scary and entertaining

    It was the first time I was hearing about Nightmare on Wolcott Street, and I though I’ll check it out. That turned out to be a wise decision as the haunt was quite scary as well as entertaining… props and jump scares startles you..The actors did a great job.. I would come back again for sure.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Special effects were great

    One of the best haunted houses.. the special effects were great, and it scares the shit out of you.. the set, actors and costumes were good as well.. we enjoyed the experience a lot.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Custom, Handcrafted Haunted House Full of Movie Props

    Nightmare on Wolcott Street is a winding labyrinth of 55 rooms lined with salvaged movie props. Expect every genre of horror:Killer clowns.Vampires.A Chainsaw wielding maniac.There easily could be 1000 set pieces wired and set up to scare.Humble beginnings, this scare show was set up 5 years ago by the owner of the clrestoration shop it's connected to. There they custom fabricate parts for cars that no longer exist. As we stepped up to take a photo next to the twin 2-story Virgin Mary's, featured in Whoopie Goldverg's Sister Act, one of his mechanics was kind enough to share with us a half-million dollar, mauve restoration from France the owner had purchased and was working to restore to sell at an auction. Many of their cars serve in the scenes of Hollywood films.As you can imagine, many of these mechanics have worked on setting up the haunted house, whether installing new pieces into old mechanical animatronic Frankensteins, or welding steel and mirror to create fun house mazes. As a result the haunted house is custom, unlike any other, and an art piece in its own respect.#2 Haunted House of the year, as we seek to visit 13 haunted houses in the Northeast during this Halloween season.This one is not to be missed and will be reviewed with video and photos on our NY Nomads' blog, for those that want to learn more.www.nynomads.com

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great horror house venue. Top of the list.

    Went to a lot of horror houses, this is at the top! You won't be disappointed, but you will be scared!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Recommend to all scare seekers

    There were lots of twists and turns.. scares kept coming from all sides.. often they would jump out from hidden spots totally catching you off-guard. My husband does not scared easily.. but even he was jumped at least thrice.. the rates were reasonable and the whole thing was lots of fun. I would recommend this place to scare seekers in the state.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Scary...multiple thematic rooms

    Amazing haunt house. Very short wait time in the queue and scary ambience inside the house. Multiple thematic rooms accompanied by phenomenal special effects. Impressed by actor’s skills and costume. Friendly staff. Not for one who gets panic easily

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Actors were fantastic

    Went last night with a small group of 4 friends. Didn’t get too scared but actors were fantastic especially the chainsaw. The creepy sounds were most enduring. Overall, we left terrified and planning to come again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Scary and entertaining

    It was the first time I was hearing about Nightmare on Wolcott Street, and I though I’ll check it out. That turned out to be a wise decision as the haunt was quite scary as well as entertaining… props and jump scares startles you..The actors did a great job.. I would come back again for sure.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Special effects were great

    One of the best haunted houses.. the special effects were great, and it scares the shit out of you.. the set, actors and costumes were good as well.. we enjoyed the experience a lot.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • The name says it all!!

    Hard work is clearly visible. Good roars and sound effects itself will take your soul out and make you feel crazy. Teens will have their best time at nightmare but I won’t recommend it to kids.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Had an amazing time

    Perfect price for adequate length inside the house. We had an amazing time as we screamed, jumped, yelled and even ran from one corner to another. High on detail design for sets and themes, phenomenal special effects and scariest night for my group. Hats off to the organizing team.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Super spooky

    We had a lively time at Nightmare on Wolcott Street. Haunted house was super spooky. There are many turns and twists where you can expect good scare jumps. Everything looked very professional. As it is an indoor attraction, rain or shine does not affect your visit.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Terrifying experience

    Last month I walked through the Walcott Street with my girlfriend. Trust me, it was a terrifying experience. The actors were so true in colors that they chased us out of the building. Loved the animatronics, in fact the best I’ve ever experienced in any haunted houses. Friendly staffs and ample space for parking. Well done.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Good haunt...very realistic

    Our first experience. Everything was very realistic and the haunted house will take you to another fantasy world where you can meet your nightmares in real. Feel like visiting again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Worth it

    Worth it. No matter how much they try to seperate you from your group don't let it happen. The only way to survive is not allowing yourself to get seperated. Observe the details. Watch your step.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • excelent

    this place was great it is where it is at wish there was more places like this small wait witch was good to staff was great all actors were good place is big it was nice to stay dry and have fun hope it stays around they change rooms and props around from year to year adding new rooms great job nightmare see ya next year

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Fun time

    I would go to this haunted house again. I had a great time.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • awesome haunt

    I really loved this haunted house. I like it most for it's props and lighting. I don't want to give away much, but there's a really cool part with lights. There's also some pretty cool animated props in the haunt. I look forward to going next year. :)

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted December 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Haunted trail

    It was great and no waiting in a long line when I and my 3 friends went. Well worth $10 and want to go again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Real Scare..!!!

    It was really good and worth more than 10$

    Posted November 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Loved it!!!!!!!!

    It was not like any other haunted house I've been to its great I went on Friday loved it Goodbye

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • that shit was fun

    It was entertaining to see everyone so scared. Going again Saturday because it was so good.

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • sure ya right

    It couldve been better

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Last night

    October is MY MONTH I try to visit as many haunted sites as I can! This one has made me return twice b/c was unable to see all the attractions the first time from being sooo scared.. It took my group and I 27 mins to go thru, I don't know how they do it for only 10$$ with and actors and props and sooo much to see!!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • Haunted House Connoisseur

    Having experienced haunted house iin Idaho, Utah, California pretty much all over the U.S. I must say, I was gravely disappointed. Definitely at the bottom of the barrel. Right idea, with failed execution. To be fair, if you arrive with low expectations, you'll do.just fine. Lastly, they said half an hour and it really took about 10 mins with the delay of two mothers who brought their newborns and toddler aged kids.

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • almost broke my ankle!

    we RAN full speed screaming through this thing! Scarier than Lake Compounce for half the price, my lungs still hurt the next morning from screaming! Amazing effects & great actors!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • BRING YOUR INHALER !!!

    We went last week and again this week. Love all the sets and displays. Very detailed and creepy. If you are asthmatic, Be sure to have your inhaler for the awesome dramatic exit : ) Best one to visit in the state !!!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • OMG must see

    Amazing job on this haunted house. I was worried it was a waste of time. That place is sick! That little girl made me have nightmares. Trail of terror watch out NIGHTMARE ON WOLCOTT STREET IS WHERE ITS AT! Only waited 30 mins in line and also waited inside!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Great time!!!

    We went last weekend and had to go twice right before they closed it was that good!!!! I think that everyone should go at least once! And they expanded it nice touch... Hats off to the owners and actors/ actresses!!SincerelyThe girl who went four times last years and twice in one night so far...MarieP.s. Can't wait til this weekend going again with more ppl :)

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Awesome time

    Always love checking out haunted houses!! Did a very good job for only being their first year. Definately scary and well worth the time and money. GOOD JOB!!!

    Posted November 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • nightmare on wolcott street

    went there last night was very scary and made me pee myself. A must see!!!!

    Posted November 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • was ok

    Lotta props, not many actors..those who did scare were cheesy..seemed too crowded with stuff..not bad for first year

    Posted November 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Well done!!!

    Had me jumping around every corner. Live mice/rats were crazy. Gotta go see it again. Definatly worth the $10. Gonna tell all my friends!!!

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Very good

    Great price very well put together must see

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?